Senado / Senate

April 28th, 2016

Some cool Senate images:

Senado / Senate
Image by Marcio Cabral de Moura
Ottawa, a capital do Canadá.
O Senado do Canadá (em inglês Canadian Senate; em francês Sénat du Canada) é um componente do Parlamento do Canadá, que também inclui o monarca do Reino Unido (representado pelo governador-geral) e a Câmara dos Comuns do Canadá. O Senado canadense é composta por 105 membros que são indicados pelo primeiro-ministro do Canadá, e aprovados simbolicamente pelo governador-geral. As posições no Senado são divididas igualmente entre Ontário, Quebec, as províncias marítimas (Ilha do Príncipe Eduardo, Nova Brunswick e Nova Escócia) e as províncias do oeste canadense (Alberta, Colúmbia Britânica, Manitoba e Saskatchewan). O número de posições dado a Terra Nova e Labrador, bem como os territórios de Nunavut, Territórios do Noroeste e Yukon, são dados à parte destas divisões regionais. Os senadores ficam no cargo até a idade de 75 anos.

Popularmente conhecida como "Câmara Superior" (Upper House), o Senado canadense é muito menos poderosa do que a Câmara dos Comuns, a "Câmara Inferior" (Lower House). Embora a aprovação da Câmara dos Comuns e do Senado seja necessária para legislação, o Senado raramente rejeita leis criadas e aprovadas pela Câmara dos Comuns – cujos membros são democraticamente eleitos. O Governo do Canadá está nas mãos da Câmara dos Comuns – o primeiro-ministro do Canadá apenas permanece em ofício quando possui o suporte da maioria da Câmara dos Comuns. O Senado não possui tal influência, e não exerce tal poder no governo do país.

Os membros do Senado realizam encontros na Parliament Hill, em Ottawa, Ontário.

Ottawa, Canadian capital
In the east wing of the Centre Block is the Senate chamber, in which are the thrones for the Canadian monarch and her consort, or for the federal viceroy and his or her consort, and from which either the sovereign or the governor general gives the Speech from the Throne, and grants Royal Assent to bills passed by parliament. The senators themselves sit in the chamber, arranged so that those belonging to the governing party are to the right of the Speaker of the Senate, and the opposition to the speaker’s left.

The overall colour in the Senate chamber is red, seen in the upholstery, carpeting, and draperies, and reflecting the colour scheme of the House of Lords in the United Kingdom; red was a more royal colour, associated with the crown and hereditary peers. Capping the room is a gilt ceiling with deep octagonal coffers, each filled with heraldic symbols, including maple leafs, fleur-de-lis, lions rampant, clàrsach, Welsh Dragons, and lions passant. This plane rests on six pairs and four single pilasters, each of which is capped by a caryatid, and between which are clerestory windows. Below the windows is a continuous architrave, broken only by baldachins at the base of each of the above pilasters.

On the east and west walls of the chamber are eight murals depicting scenes from the First World War; painted in between 1916 and 1920, they were originally part of the more than 1,000 piece Canadian War Memorials Fund, founded by The Lord Beaverbrook, and were intended to hang in a specific memorial structure. But the project never eventuated, and the works were stored at the National Gallery of Canada, until, in 1921, parliament requested some of the collection’s oil paintings on loan for display in the Centre Block, and the murals have remained in the Senate chamber ever since. Edgar Bundy’s Landing of the First Canadian Division at Saint-Nazaire, 1915, depicts the first landing of Canadian troops in France, at Saint-Nazaire, led off the Novian by the pipe band of the Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment) of Canada, and watched by officers, troops, and townspeople; Algernon Talmage painted A Mobile Veterinary Unit in France, showing a scene on the Cambrai front, where a Canadian Mobile Veterinary Unit is taking wounded horses to an evacuating station; Railway Construction in France was painted by Leonard Richmond to show the construction of a railway by the Canadian Overseas Railway Construction Corps, in the deepest trench in France; James Kerr-Lawson was commissioned by the Canadian War Memorials Fund to create Arras, the Dead City, which depicts the ruins of Arras Cathedral as they were in 1917, as well as The Cloth Hall, Ypres, a painting of the destroyed, 600 year old Cloth Hall in Ypres; Claire Atwood’s On Leave documents – as battlefield scenes were thought inappropriate subject matter for female artists – the home front activities of the Canadian Expeditionary Force at a YMCA canteen in one of London’s train stations as they await their train to the battlefront; The Watch on the Rhine (The Last Phase) was painted by Sir William Rothenstein to symbolically represent the defeat of Germany, with a British howitzer facing across the Rhine, and old and new Germany embodied in the ancient hills and factory chimney; and Sir George Clausen’s Returning to the Reconquered Land was painted to illustrate agricultural land behind the front lines in France, and shows people returning to their destroyed homes following the armistice.

Senate Lobby
Image by roytsaplinjr
The lobby outside the New York State Senate Chamber

Posted by Victoria Addington

%d bloggers like this: